Trying new techniques · Uncategorized

folk art pink bunny

Recently, my step mum has been getting into folk art. She loves the idea of being able to paint things in a stylized/simple manner (good for her very short times off work) and being able to depict real life memories and events easily.

This had inspired me to try a bit of folk art myself. I wanted to use some of the techniques off of the fairy watercolour book I got years ago : “Watercolor Fairy Art: How to Bring Your Fairy Realm Art to Life” and I never really found the right picture to use my beloved style of art in until now.

fantasy bunny.jpg

I decided to make a fantasy rabbit framed by some pink foxgloves (something I learnt from the book I mentioned before). Although simple, I think that the rabbit shape and simple foxgloves correctly reflect folk art while still being recognizable. Therefore the design, in my mind, is a success. That and the fantasy wash of the background.

There are still some mistakes but thankfully they are hard to recognize. They are mostly just slight ripping of the paper and the paper not staying flat.

I was actually quite lucky it turned out how was; The grass was originally individual strands (I was attempting something from the book) but it looked awful on a wide scale (the way I was doing it). Thankfully, when I washed over it in more paint it blended it and looked a little more reasonable. To give it a more fantasy effect I spattered some viridian green and dabbed a paintbrush into the wet paint with clean water for the patchy effect (this was also done on the sky).

I still have much too learn about folk art but I am glad my first attempt was good enough for the blog!

Leave a Reply

