Favourite birds

The blue jewel of the Pantanal

The Hyacinth macaw is the largest parrot in the world and these big beauties have a large toothless beak that can break open the hardest nuts in the world (even a coconut). Unfortunately these friendly macaws are vulnerable and expensive to buy because of it but that has not stopped it from being one of my favourite animals.

What I loved about them is their gentle personality, deep cobalt blue feathers and regal appearance. The first picture I did tried to link them to the hyacinth plant.

hyacinth 1

This first picture has the beautiful bird out in the garden, a patch of pink hyacinths in the background and a binky ball toy next to the bird. It was not one of my best pictures but I am happy with how I captured the bird and the background was slightly better than my nesting Blue throated macaws in my opinion. If I was to improve it I would of had the bird play with the toy and maybe more dark greens to get away from the bright dreamy feel of the background.

hyacinth 2

This is my second attempt at the bird. This time I tried to base the background from a previous picture in a book I looked at. I love this picture more as the bird is bigger on the page and is excited (shown by the raised feathers on the head). If I was to do it again I would have used a pastel to achieve the background as the black was quite grainy on the paper.

Leave a Reply

