Favourite birds

Blue bird of paradise

Birds of paradise have fascinated people for centuries. The birds were originally thought to have come from actual paradise. This was because the westerns got the bird skins with no feet or wings. As they never saw a real living bird; they asked the traders why they had no feet or wings, But they got the birds from another place so they themselves never saw the real birds and so they came up with at tale that dragon believing westerns would believe for many years: that they floated in paradise sipping dew from clouds. This is why they were called bird of paradise.

I had spare time after finishing my final major project at college a few days ago, so I thought I would pass the time doing a watercolour. My Nan’s favourite bird of paradise came to mind and that was the Blue bird of paradise I drew below.

Blue bird of paradise.png

I was quite happy with the blending of the tail plumes but unfortunately there were a few mistakes too. The biggest mistake was the peeling of paper around the eye and chin, this was due to me overworking that area. In the future I need to learn to leave those areas alone and to use masking fluid to keep areas white (like the eye ring on the female).

 

Leave a Reply

