Favourite birds

Rio Jewel recolour

The original bird called Jewel does not and never has belonged to me and belongs to Blue Sky Studios.

The reason I have chosen to recolour the popular macaw character from the movies series Rio is because I have found that their birds have not represented the bird species they are based on well.

The bird they based their rare blue macaws on was the critically endangered Spix’s macaw. However, many fans have pointed out how the birds resemble Hyacinth macaws more than the Spix.

The Hyacinth, like the cartoon characters, is a solid dark blue and the Spix is pale blue, has a very pale blue head and grey facial patch. Therefore it is understandable why fans point this out. I myself am bothered by this and it is not the only character to be misrepresented as a background Blue and gold did not have a face patch at all.

Below and as the feature image is my correctly recoloured Spix macaw, Jewel.

Spix macaw jewel recolour.png

The bird was easy to draw and took 2 days (one at evening and the next morning for better lighting for the feathers). I drew the body position from a real Spix macaw and then drew it in the style of Jewel from Rio. Overall I am happy with the outcome as it has become a pretty and accurate representation of the real bird in the style of my favourite character from the film and there is nothing I want to change about her. A problem I encountered was that with the colours I had it was really hard to colour in the pale head without it being too turquoise or dark.

Leave a Reply

